Norwegian lawmakers nominate Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Norwegian lawmakers nominate Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Norwegian lawmakers nominate Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

North Korean leader Kim Jong-un met with Trump for a summit Tuesday in Singapore, where they signed an agreement to work together towards peace and denuclearization.

The Norwegian lawmakers who nominated Trump were Christian Tybring-Gjedde and Per-Willy Amundsen of the country's right-leaning Progress Party, which advocates for limited immigration and shrinking the size of government.

The Nobel Committee in Oslo typically receives hundreds of nominations each year, and past candidates have also included Russian President Vladimir Putin, former Cuban leader Fidel Castro and actress Susan Sarandon.

The committee can not publicly reveal who has been nominated, so it is unclear if Mr Trump is in the running to scoop the prize in 2018.

Trump himself has mused about earning the Nobel saying "everyone thinks so, but I would never say it", when asked about the possibility of the prize last month.

House Republicans in the USA have pushed the idea of Trump's nomination in recent months because of his work with North Korea leader Kim Jong Un.

Two of the United Kingdom's largest bookmakers have cut the odds on bets that President TrumpDonald John TrumpSanford at risk in primary shadowed by Trump McConnell cements his standing in GOP history Ready for somebody?

The nomination missed this years' deadline for the prize, so Mr Trump's nomination would only make him eligible for the award next year.

For two consecutive years, in 2016 and 2017, the candidacy of trump offered the same U.S. citizen.

In 2015, Geir Lundestad, who served as the secretary of the Nobel Committee for 25 years beginning in 1990, regretted the decision to give the prize to Mr Obama.

The Nobel peace prize is one of six awards given by the Nobel Committee.

He declined to comment on Tuesday.

Any member of a national assembly may submit nominations for consideration. A record 330 people were nominated this year.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]