PM Imran calls Israeli, Indian leaders out on 'moral bankruptcy'

PM Imran calls Israeli, Indian leaders out on 'moral bankruptcy'

PM Imran calls Israeli, Indian leaders out on 'moral bankruptcy'

BJP President Amit Shah on Tuesday claimed that people have decided to make Narendra Modi the Prime Minister again. Modi's main rival is opposition leader Rahul Gandhi.

The Jammu and Baramulla seats in Jammu and Kashmir will also go for polling in the first phase. "They are apolitical and neutral stakeholders in a modern democracy", the Election Commission had said.

Modi and Shah addressed two rallies each in Uttarakhand after the announcement of poll dates while state leaders of the two parties held over two dozen rallies in different constituencies.

He charged BSP president Mayawati with playing with the sentiments of the dalits for the sake of Muslim votes, He took a dig at the Congress, saying the party's manifesto gave the impression of "Congress ka haath, deshdrohiyon key saath" (Congress is backing traitors).

Everywhere in the country it was the chant of "Modi Modi" besides people too wished that the Modi government will back in the saddle after the poll, he said while addressing a BJP election rally for the April 11 Lok Sabha Election in Shamshabad near here on Tuesday. In the last election the alliance won more than 330 seats - the biggest mandate in three decades.

Pollsters say the BJP's re-election bid got a boost from recent hostilities with arch-rival Pakistan, after a militant group based there claimed a February suicide bombing that killed 40 Indian security forces in the Himalayan region of Kashmir.

"In today's India we have seen perhaps for the first-time security issues competing with, and outdoing, a bread and butter issue like unemployment", CVoter said in a statement. "However, when it comes to controlling and responding on terror the same set of respondents do feel a clear and visible difference".

Voting in the general election begins on Thursday, but with about 900 million eligible voters, will be spread across several weeks, with ballots counted on May 23.

The nominees from the seat are: Muhammad Akbar Lone of the National Conference, Farooq Ahmad Mir of the Congress, Raja Aijaz Ali of the People's Conference, Mohammad Maqbool War of the BJP, Jahangir Khan of the NPP, Abdul Qayoom Wani of the PDP and independent candidates Javid Ahmad Qureshi, Syed Najeeb Shah Naqvi and Abdul Rashid Sheikh.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]