Australia's Warner hits 85 on IPL return

Australia's Warner hits 85 on IPL return

Australia's Warner hits 85 on IPL return

The first super Sunday of IPL 2019 starts with a clash between two of the most consistent IPL teams, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

Brief scores: SRH 181/3 (David Warner 85, Andre Russell 2/32) lost to KKR 183/4 (Nitish Rana 68, Andre Russell 49 n o) by six wickets. I was a bit nervous in the dressing room and kept drinking pickle juice, Warner said after the match.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead Sunrisers Hyderabad in their opening game.

"It is good to get out there and contribute".

Putting behind the embarrassing ball tampering scandal, that kept him out previous year, Warner smashed three sixes and nine boundaries in his 53-ball knock. Warner has returned to the franchise this season but SRH have retained Williamson as the skipper.

David Warner's 12-month ban from worldwide cricket ends on Thursday and he showed yesterday that, two months out from the World Cup and just over four months before the Ashes series in England, he still has plenty to offer to Australia.

KKR were needed more than 50 runs in the last three overs where the game was pretty much in SRH's court. With home support backing them, KKR will look towards the likes of Chris Lynn, young Shubman Gill, Robin Uthappa, Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik to pile on the runs for them.

The IPL subsequently barred him from playing in the 2018 edition of the 20-over franchise tournament. He took the game away from us. But, Sunrisers will take heart from the fact that they have won the last two encounters at the Eden Gardens. It was only in the 13th over when KKR finally managed to get the first breakthrough by dismissing Bairstow.

"Kane is obviously the standing global captain who is admired globally on that platform and what he did with us a year ago, we felt that it seemed to make sense to continue that continuity", Moody said.

"Russell, the way he played, changed the game". This win was important for us especially at the start, he said.

Sunrisers Hyderabad full squad: Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Martin Guptill, Ricky Bhui, David Warner, Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Nabi, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Sreevats Gowsami, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]